So with it being a bank holiday today, I didn’t have the distraction of work to keep my mind off the lack of little ones. In fact there is an expectation in the UK that during a bank holiday you should immediately take to the roads and sit in heavily congested traffic for a minimum of 2 hours in order to go somewhere, then pay inflated car park, entertainment and ice cream prices, before a long traffic laden return journey, all the while being thankful for the great way in which the day has been spent………….
Clearly I don’t readily subscribe to this belief. Fortunately I’d notice a post on a friends Facebook wall. It turns out that a Napoleaonic Re-enactment group were staging a living history display at Wayne Manor(yep Wollaton Hall really was Wayne Manor in the last Batman epic!) , which happens to be very close by. So I suggested to my lovely friend we go along and see what it was like. There was a little reluctance at first, but a day out at the Hall & Park would be a good way to spend the bank holiday, the other stuff was just an added bonus πŸ™‚
I genuinely didn’t know how this living history group would be. It’s fair to say that there are some out there that are a bit rubbish. But, these folks were great, we had a chat with a few of them, and they were knowledgable, fun and friendly. The only minor point, that both myself and another geek friend of mine that I bumped into there, was that there seemed to be an equal number of elite skirmish green jacketed rifleman as there were red coated troops of the line. But then I guess that is just the Sharp effect πŸ™‚
It was a great day out, I’ll just let you peruse the pictures now, and take a note of Wayne Manor in the background πŸ˜€

Odi et amo………..Excrucior

Stay Slinky People

TTFN

Malinari..
Poisoner extraordinaire

20130506-225046.jpg

20130506-225100.jpg

20130506-225109.jpg

20130506-225115.jpg

20130506-225121.jpg

20130506-225132.jpg

20130506-225142.jpg

