I had a pretty fun day at work, surprisingly tiring, but fun none the less. In fact it was so tiring that I’m sure I had some really important conversations at work, but I can’t remember them now :-/ Lets hope there isn’t a test on them when I’m back on Thursday 🙂
Over the last few days I’ve read a number of different articles about various aspects of Autism. I also have a read of Autism related stuff that passes my way, because…… Well it’s important to me of course. Now I’m not going to populate today’s post with links to these articles, but one if them talked about the challenges faced by parents of “high functioning” children with Autism. This isn’t a term that’s been used much with regard to Aiden’s diagnosis. Autism is such a strange thing, that’s why it’s a spectrum disorder, with so a broad scope of symptoms. I would put Auden at the “high functioning” end of the spectrum, after all he’s settled into a regular school and he’s done so well recently. The article talked in particular about how people can misjudge the actions of a high functioner, because there are times when they appear “normal” bitten all of a sudden you can get a full on thermonuclear meltdown.
This leads on to another article which talked about the best way to handle a meltdown. In fact this advice doesn’t just apply to Autism, but is a handy parenting tip. During the meltdown it’s important to distance yourself from emotions and your own frustrations, thy only way to get out of it is to be the calm at the eye of the storm that your child can seek out, and in that way being the storm to a quicker end. Now this all sounds so simple but as I’m sure we’re all aware, it’s so hard to do in practice. I think I manage to achieve it most times, I have my usual distraction tricks, and many times we manage to sing, dance, tickle or play out way out of serious issues.
Right I really have rambled today, I think it’s the tiredness coming through, on the plus side I get the little ones tomorrow, although it’s Aiden’s first day back at school, so it’ll be a big adventure 😉

Odi et amo………..Excrucior

Stay Slinky People,
TTFN

Malinari..
Poisoner extraordinaire

