Sooo today was the important day at work, well performance wise anyway. I needed to be on top form and firing on all cylinders. I was of course having to run a training session, however there was a little added pressure, because it was the very last team session (we have them weekly), that our awesome team would be together for. Due to holidays and such like we won’t be together again for a meeting from now 😦
With this in mind I needed to make sure it not only went well, but that we finished on a high, no pressure then πŸ™‚
Of course I nailed it though πŸ™‚ the topic I’d chosen for training was spot in (even if I say so myself), as it gives the team some great skills (well makes them more aware of naturally existing skills they have) to use to integrate into a new team and look after themselves.
I also started the meeting by performing a short piece of comedy I’d written and put together for a stand up routine. The good news is that it went better than I thought. It was barely 5 minutes of routine, but as it was based on self deprecating observational humour, it was nice to see (and hear!) laughter in all the right places. It’s a very nice feeling to have something you think (and find yourself) funny, that you’ve weaved into a story/performance confirmed by an unsuspecting audience, it’s a great high πŸ˜€
Now maybe my (soon to be disbanded) team mates learned a little too much of what clunks and clanks it’s way around inside my head, but fortunately for me I don’t embarrass particularly easily, and even worse I’ll happily talk about any socially taboo subject πŸ˜‰
The rest of the session went well and the audience were very responsive, it also generate lots of good conversation afterwards. Also on the plus side I think I managed to sneak a little fear into there to. After all once you’ve twitched the curtain a little and allowed people to glimpse behind it’s always nice to let a little fear/awe creep into their perception of you. I have famously done it before, in fact I was particularly proud of not answering a question that a team I was in years ago used to constantly ask. I didn’t set out with the intention of creating a myth around the enquiry, but that’s what happened. People went away and came up with their own wild answers, which I fostered by not correcting, I was also careful not to confirm them either πŸ™‚ I do so love how a joint consciousness can tie itself in knots πŸ™‚
The only downside to today’s events was that I completely forgot to end with The Jabberwocky, we all got carried away discussing the last point that I forgot my grand closure for the session, still I can save that for another day πŸ™‚

Odi et amo………..Excrucior

Stay Slinky People,
TTFN

Malinari..
Poisoner extraordinaire

