So there’s still lots of downs going in, but today that all had to be parked as I had an important job to do. Due to my fine performance at the Firework event last Friday, my services as a bugle charity bear suit wearer had been requested for the Children in Need charity day at work (out work place is one of the main sponsors of this event).
So even though I wasn’t meant to be working at all today (it is after all little one day – but as they were both at school) I agreed to go in for the morning. This had an added bonus of ensuring I was the first person to wear the recently dry cleaned Bear suit (I was sloppy seconds last week, and a lot of sweat accumulates in them!). I was also the main man this time, bright yellow Pudsey Bear.
My partner in crime (The Blush bear suitI was in last week), was experienced (they did it last year), so we were really let off the leash and allowed to have lots of fun. The brief we were given at 08-00 was to loiter in reception and get people excited and in a fun frame of mind for the while Children in Need day. I think we managed that easily between us πŸ™‚
It must be something about the anonymity of the big bear suits, because you become possessed with a mischievous streak πŸ˜‰
Here’s a tip if ever you get approached by a big yellow charity bear it his spotty bow wearing friend, go along with them, have a laugh and don’t be embarrassed, you’re not in a silly for starters so you have nothing to be embarrassed about. Plus if you clam up and shy away, it’s just like a red rag to a bull, and the bears will just hound you, we can see just enough out of the suits to spot people trying to avoid us, and therefore you become a challenge we must accept πŸ™‚
During our time in reception we did lots of waving, high fives, posing for photo’s and hugging. We also ambushed several smartly suited visitors that seemed to thing they were exempt from the proceedings πŸ™‚
After this initial reception meet and greet, we did a quick up and down the huge line that was queuing for the charity sale, and again it was usual fare of waves, high fives and hugs πŸ˜‰
After a good 15 minute rest it was time for the (in)famous charity mascot race, which always happens on Children in Need day.
I’ll ruin the outcome for you upfront, the Duracell Bunny won it (of course!). Blush and I had come up with a plan before hand, as due to the oversized feet we were wearing and the fact we’d done 2 hours in the suits already, it was obvious we weren’t contenders for a podium place πŸ™‚
So we’d decided that Pudsey and Blush would of course stroll leisurely round working the crowd. Which we did πŸ˜€ I like to think that if you measure success by hugs per metre, Pudsey and Blush were runaway winners, despite the fact that we only did 1 of the 2 laps required (I hadn’t even heard them announce it was a 2 lap race, in fact I wasn’t even sure of the course).
Needless to say the crowd were brilliant and I’d made sure a substantial cheerleading section was there for Pudsey and Blush.
Thy was the final requirement for my tenure as Pudsey, so along with Blush we headed back (still larking about) to finally get out of the suits.
It was tiring, but it was great fun once again, and I thoroughly enjoyed, plus myself and Blush made a great team, and really got the excitement levels up this morning πŸ™‚
After all that I only just manage to get back home in time for the school pickup – by just I mean 30 minutes to spare. Upon collecting the little ones from school I was informed that Paige had started to show signs of being poorly late on, and bless her she did have a temperature (I think she’s got the virus Aiden had earlier in the week).
She’s dozed a little tonight, but because they both love Pudsey Bear so much, I’ve let them stay up quite late to watch Children In Need TV (we’ve all been cuddled up together, as obviously I’m so exhausted from bear duty today). In fact Aiden kept going up to the TV whenever Pudsey was on it πŸ˜‰
That was something I found quite hard about today, my little ones love Pudsey so much, but I can’t tell them I’ve been him for the day. I have shown them lots of pictures and videos from today (and last Friday), but mentioned that I helped Pudsey and Blush, although they started to question why I wasn’t in any of the pictures…………….
Well that’s about it for today, don’t think it’s going to be a particularly good night as Paige keeps waking up feeling poorly, we may not be up to much tomorrow :-/

Here’s a few pictures of the mornings activity πŸ˜‰

Odi et amo………..Excrucior

Stay Slinky People,
TTFN

Malinari..
Poisoner extraordinaire

20131116-004916.jpg

20131116-004927.jpg

20131116-004941.jpg

20131116-004959.jpg

