We didn’t have the usual easy walk to school that I’ve come to expect this morning unfortunately 😦
Now it was only a couple of minor meltdowns, but still I’ve been spoiled with the walks in recent times. The problems this morning all stemmed from Skylanders of course. Firstly Aiden wasn’t particularly impressed that we didn’t play it before going to school (no meltdown here, but it was the start of things). We’ve never played it before school, it’s not something I’d like to start doing either. So I made sure that Aiden was well aware that I was picking him up from school this evening, and yes that meant he would be able to plays the game after school – as long as he was good at school, I stipulated, nothing like a good bit of bribery. And to make sure we talked about what good behaviour is πŸ™‚
So the walk to school was all about Skylanders, with Aiden calmly rattling off all the names of them, and then telling me I needed to buy the ones he doesn’t have, plus going as far as to provide the order in which they should be brought.
I kept telling him they cost lots of money, and that he would have to wait until his birthday. Sadly at about this time we were walking through the town centre and Aiden decided that now was the time for us to go to the supermarket and buys some………..
He then just became totally fixated on that premise, which led to his minor meltdown 😦
We got through it, I eventually managed to distract him and break the cycle, but it then became a constant point of keeping him focused on the journey and he’s day at school. Once we were at school he was back to his usual focused and happy self. So just a minor hiccup πŸ˜‰
When picking Aiden up after school (he did have a good day), it was a case if quickly make out way home, to the constant narration of which Skylanders we were going to be using πŸ˜‰ I did enjoy our extra time together. Paige meanwhile had a great time taking part in Mission X.
I filled the rest of my day with films, I’ve managed to watch Man of Steel, the remake of Red Dawn, ad a 2007 version of Monkey Magic (an old 1970’s show based on the Water Margin tales). Monkey Magic was as bonkers as the 70’s TV show and mostly good fun. Red Dawn I really enjoyed, despite having very find memories of watching the original in the 80’s on VHS. Finally Man of Steel, I’ll be honest, I genuinely don’t know what to make of it. It was clearly good as it kept me enthral led and watching, but I just can’t decide how I feel about it, I’m currently ambivalent towards it. On top of which I have no idea of how it fits within the Superman canon but can’t be bothered to investigate that further. Still all 3 are worth a watch again πŸ™‚
Right work tomorrow, I’m hoping it won’t be another bad day, but to help alleviate that I have an idea to pitch tomorrow which may make up for my epic faux pas on Monday…………..

Odi et amo………..Excrucior

Stay Slinky People,
TTFN

Malinari..
Poisoner extraordinaire

