I had a great day with the little ones, it started quite early, but I did manage to persuade them to climb into bed with me this morning so that we could snooze for an hour or so πŸ™‚
We took a slow wander to the shops, mainly because they had some money to spend, and no prizes for guessing what they chose to spend it on. There was some discussion and negotiation, but they both decided to pool their money and opt for one of the more expensive Skylanders (the actual Swapforce type). So this meant that when we got home and after dinner they had to level up Night-Shift between them πŸ™‚
I’ve been thoroughly spoilt with cuddles today, which has been very nice πŸ™‚
The evening came around and they had to leave me, boo! But they’ll be back again Friday morning, yay!
I ended up having a minor drama unfold after they had gone. My bedroom door is opposite the front door to the hovel, this means I keep it closed, I just don’t think it’s a particularly flattering thing to see my bedroom upon entering the hovel. Well once the little ones had left I needed to go into my bedroom to get something. And that’s where the problems started. For some reason the door catch had decided that working correctly was no longer an option. No matter how I coaxed and charmed the door handle, the catch would not obey. I did start to think that I would need to force the door, something I really didn’t want to do. So before succumbing to violent door induced rage I assembled some tools. I start by removing the handle to see if I could figure anything out. After 20 minutes of trying various different methods on the naked workings of the door, still no luck. Then I remembered the old movie fiction trick of using a credit card. But this wasn’t really an option here (the door catch was shaped the right way, but the frame would have required the credit card to form an “S”), however I did remember that I’d recently kept a sheet of clear Perspex handy (it had actually been wrapped around one of Paige’s birthday cakes). With no small degree of dexterity and a further 20 minutes patient effort, I finally sprung the catch. Not wanting to have to repeat this while scene again I dismantled the whole catch and handle system and decided to see if I could figure out what had gone wrong. When I removed the catch barrel the inside (through which the bar from the handles turns), reacted in a similar to fashion to all the ladies I’ve ever been in a relationship with. Upon my touch it proceeded to have a major breakdown. The whole inside of the mechanism disintegrated, in fact most if it appears to have turned to dust, as I could only find a few pieces of it. I’ve included a picture of it mounted upon the life saving (if your life depended upon a fully functioning door that is) sheet of Perspex πŸ™‚
Well I figured that was enough high end drama for the day. But later I ended up reading another one of those great articles that had me crying like a baby. Here’s the article, makes me realise how tough things can be for Paige, even though she doesn’t actually realise it. I know I can be too hard on her some times, but I’m lucky she’s so awesome. It does also highlight that I’m also lucky with Aiden, he’s nowhere near the extreme example given in the article, but things are by no means plain sailing all the time for us 😦

Odi et amo………..Excrucior

Stay Slinky People,
TTFN

Malinari..
Poisoner extraordinaire

20140220-002635.jpg

