Ok I think I’ve about recovered from the highs of night πŸ™‚ I even managed to venture out into the sunshine, and had the unexpected pleasure of bumping into a friend.
I haven’t done much else today, although I did manage to listen to my Tiff Stevenson CD today, and she’s just as funny on the CD as in real life πŸ˜‰ I also had a proper fanboy moment when I noticed that she had retweeted my picture from last night πŸ˜€
So it was a great night out, I’d suggested it at work as a social trip for our team. People were a little apprehensive as most of them (there only 5 of us in the end!) had never been to a comedy club before. They had seen comedians live, but at theatres and arenas. Now that’s fine, but I think you really should experience a proper comedy club, after all as stated last night during one of the sets (Tiff’s if I remember rightly) standup is very much a meritocracy and all of the big names started in small clubs and earned their stripes.
I had said something similar to promote the idea of our team social, in fact everything I made mention of when promoting the night out did come to pass πŸ™‚ I was especially pleased when the headline act (the exceedingly funny Paul McCaffrey) was unable to do half of his set because he was having so much fun playing with audience and reacting to them πŸ˜‰
last night certainly made this latest Long Lonely Stint a little easier to stomach.
After the comedy club a few of us headed to a rather interesting cocktail bar called The Boiler room. It’s set up like a prohibition speakeasy, it had a shop front which you enter and appears to be a gas boiler shop, the staff member behind the counter (the bouncer) engages you in conversation and then asks if you’d like a table. He then radios through and awaits the acknowledgment of a free table, once that’s come through he lifts the counter and allows you through a door behind the counter into a small cupboard, a secret door then opens allowing you into the cocktail bar, it was all very amusing πŸ™‚
They have lots of flashy cocktails on offer, I had an Edison inspired one which came with glow sticks. The other 2 consumed by our little party were a Mary Poppins cocktail, which came complete with an inside out umbrella and a spoonful of flaming sugar. And a Cinema Paradiso cocktail which had specially flavoured popcorn on top.
I’ll now post up all the pictures if last night, including repeats of Tiff Stevenson because she was so lovely πŸ˜‰

Odi et amo………..Excrucior

Stay Slinky People,
TTFN

Malinari..

20140330-001846.jpg

20140330-001856.jpg

20140330-001904.jpg

20140330-001913.jpg

20140330-001921.jpg

20140330-001932.jpg

20140330-001939.jpg

