I had a great day today, obviously it was a slow start, but once the afternoon arrived it was awesome πŸ˜‰
And by afternoon I mean school collection time πŸ˜‰
Paige had to stay late for an hour at school today for choir practice – she’s got quite a few of them coming up. In fact at risk of skipping ahead when she did come out of school she informed that some homework they need to do is to watch Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, as they are singing Truly Scrumptious. I smiled at Paige and said “did you know I’ve touched the real Chitty Chitty Bang Bang?” Well her face lit up, and she then had to run over and let her teacher know (who just happens to be in charge of choir). I then had to quickly explain that I once helped to bump start the very famous car at an event called Clownfest, this event occurred in my youth. A village near where I grew up hosted this event because the very famous Coco the Clown retired there and is buried in the village cemetery, so my claim to game is that I once helped to bump start a very famous car πŸ˜‰
Anyway because Paige was staying late I had an hour to kill with Aiden, and throughout the day the weather was brilliant, blue skies and sunshine all day……….. Until it was school turn out time and then the heavens opened. But I knew Aiden and I couldn’t get home and back to school in time, and besides I had my heart set in taking Aiden to the park, so that’s what we did πŸ™‚
I had an umbrella, so it wasn’t too bad. Aiden did insist on going down the slides – I did tell him would get very wet, but he insisted, and he did get very wet. Fortunately there was a kind of pavilion at the park. This enabled us to sit on some steps under some cover and watch the rain, which was most enjoyable. Aiden loved it, especially as the steps were still warm from the days sunshine, so they dried his bottom out hehehe, he did actually tell me this πŸ˜€
Whilst sat there we did Aiden’s reading homework as well, so it was great fun, he really enjoyed himself and was in a brilliant mood πŸ˜‰
Finally Paige had a friend round for a little bit, and they largely played on Minecraft together, but everyone got on really well, and Aiden was happy to join in as a spectator. Once sleep had claimed the little ones, I indulged I. A little beard envy and started to watch the series Vikings. I’m very pleasantly surprised, it’s a good series…….. However I have one major gripe, namely that the revolutionary long boat they build that is pivotal to the whole story, has the “steerboard” on the left hand side of the stern. Now I may not be an accomplished sailor, but I’ve read plenty on history that interests me, ad nautical history as well as Viking history are 2 such subjects. One reason postulated for the nautical terms “port” & “starboard” is the fact that Viking had they “steerboard” on the right hand side of their sterns, this is because when coming into “port” they would keep the “port” on the left allowing them to still be able to steer using the “steerboard” mounted on the right, as the jetty/harbour came up along the left or “port” side of the boat. So that’s my issue with the series, other than that it’s very good πŸ˜‰

Odi et amo………..Excrucior

Stay Slinky People,
TTFN

Malinari..

20140625-065355-24835316.jpg

20140625-065350-24830626.jpg

20140625-065354-24834057.jpg

20140625-065352-24832671.jpg

20140625-065356-24836937.jpg

20140625-065358-24838532.jpg

