And low the shower of shit that is work nowadays continues to be an utter farce. I made a request to have Thursday off as holiday, I have loads of holiday to use, and I very rarely actually use it for anything anyway. So I follow the official procedure and ask my manager very politely if it’s at all possible……… My manager the. Looks a little perturbed by my request and proceeds to lead me to another member of my team. Wen then effectively ask their permission for me to have the day off as holiday. Now this other member of my team is bit part of any management structure. Yeah sure they get paid more than me, but then so does everyone in the office!!!!!!
I should also point out that whilst this person is a lovely person, and that I have no particular axe to grind against them, I will have an issue if they are effectively going to be my surrogate manager. Largely because of the amount of very simple work I’ve done for this person, because they didn’t have a clue. It really is going from bad to worse.
Oh yeah and the other little gem today was that one if the experienced members of the team I’d leaving in a few weeks (good luck to them), but there seems to be an expectation that the work they do will magically get picked up by everyone else. Ok I’ll set the record straight here and now – no I will not be busting a gut or doing lots of unpaid extra hours just to make sure the team hits it’s targets. What I will be doing though is just working my officially contracted hours, including taking a proper lunch break, and not worrying about the targets at all. If it doesn’t get done in the hours I work, then tough, it’s not my job to worry about that. Quite sad really that they’ve managed to completely de-motivate me in such a short space of time. Especially given that if they actually utilised me in the correct way I’d be able to make things not only easier, but also make sure the targets were hit. But hey it’s way beyond my meagre pay grade………….
In other news the stomach continues to present issues, although there has been a marginal improvement :-/

Odi et amo………..Excrucior

Stay Slinky People,
TTFN

Malinari..

