Wow! Some days you get that feeling that your feet haven’t touched the ground, in a good way πŸ™‚
Today has been one of those days. This morning was perfect with the little ones (although they were to too keen on waking up, bless them), however our routine went well, as we got to school fine, Aiden went into school perfectly. The only minor hiccup was that I’d forgotten to put his blanket in his school bag, so I ended up making another trip back to school this morning.
When the afternoon came around I collected Aiden from school for our bonus time (Paige still has Tennis club on a Wednesday), and he was an absolute hero on the walk home, we made really good time ad had no problems at all.
Once the little ones had left me (signifying the start of another Long Lonely Stint), I dashed off into town to meet up with a couple of discerning mates.
The reason we were all somewhat discerning is they we had tickets to see a favourite author at a book launch/talk this evening. So we went off to an evening with the very fine Joe Abercrombie (feel free to look him, it’s late and I’m a little giddy from the entertainment so haven’t provided a useful link). Now to be honest I think all 3 of us weren’t sure what to expect it what to make of the new book, as it was billed as Young Adult Fiction.
The evening started with an amusing intro pointing out that Joe Abercrombie is one of the only living British Fantasy Authors, and that set the tone for the whole evening πŸ™‚
Mr Abercrombie himself was a very good entertainer and incredibly funny, he also read a chapter of his new novel after explaining the why’s and wherefore’s of it (as he said it’s aimed at young adults aged from 12 to 112 hehehe). And the bit that really got me is that the main character in this new trilogy is a disabled boy. Admittedly he lives in a fantasy world which draws much inspiration from Viking Culture.
After the very lovely reading there was a Q&A session, obviously If given some thought to this and got in with the first question. First we shared a little banter as he complimented me on my beard, then I asked – how does he come up with names for his characters, something I genuinely find hard to do. His answer was funny, insightful and honest πŸ˜‰
There was then a lot of other questions and there was plenty of humour in the answers, what a thoroughly nice chap πŸ™‚
Finally there was a book signing, and I’d been so inspired by the reading and synopsis, that I decided to get the new book dedicated to Paige and Aiden. It seemed like a nice thing to do. I explained my reasoning to Joe, and the fact that a disabled main character really struck a chord with me. I then got another (different book, my favourite of his series) book dedicated to myself πŸ˜‰
Finally I asked for a photo, which he gladly agreed to, and we posed having a beard off πŸ˜€
Amazing πŸ˜€
No here’s a load of pictures, another busy day beckons tomorrow, as I’m once again helping out with Paige’s class’s swimming lessons, and then off for a fun day with a mate πŸ˜‰

Odi et amo………..Excrucior

Stay Slinky People,
TTFN

Malinari..

20140703-000656-416220.jpg

20140703-000703-423300.jpg

20140703-000657-417688.jpg

20140703-000701-421811.jpg

20140703-000659-419197.jpg

