Well it was a work day today which heralded the beginning of a new Long Lonely Stint, and in order to ensure I could turn up for 2 whole days of work, I had to get both creative and resourceful with my journey both to and from work. I had a carefully budgeted plan though, and it worked, mostly. The idea was to enjoy a 5 mile walk in the early morning sunshine in order to qualify for a cheap bus ride, now the walk took me about 45 minutes, unfortunately the bus I’d been aiming to alight upon didn’t keep such strict timings as myself and passed the bus stop after I’d been walking for 43 minutes (I could see from the end of the road – boo!). It was only a further 39 minute wait for a second bus, so it wasn’t really too bad, I’d just have preferred to have been on the first one πŸ˜‰
Work was actually kind of fun today, I busied myself writing the latest issue of the Newsletter, and then at lunchtime we had a golf putting competition to attend. I’d foolishly been placed in the team upon which our department had laid their best hopes of a victory. I did say went hey were choosing teams that I wasn’t exactly au fait with golf, and which size bat would I require πŸ˜‰
My intense training and preparation for today’s competition involved watching Happy Gilmore. In fact that was the team name we chose as well. So as the Happy Gilmores took to the field of battle I realized the fatal flaw in my preparation. A putting competition is all about the “short game” whereas Happy Gilmore is predominantly about the “long game”. Still I figured we could win the war by carful use of propaganda, so we embarked upon a campaign of talking ourselves up πŸ˜‰
To be fair the putting competition was actually good fun, and as it turns out I’m a decidedly average putter, which is much higher than my own expectation was. We got to spend quite a bit of time outside in the sunshine walking around having a laugh. As a bonus myself and team mate number 2 (who drive us there) were able to introduce team mate number 3 to a little Faith No More – Midlife Crisis, as that was the driving music of choice. Team mate number 3 had never heard the track before (he’s young and also claimed complete ignorance of Faith No More in general), so we set him straight………. He wasn’t convinced, ah well that gives us a good excuse if we find out we did very badly once the competition results are announced πŸ˜€
I managed to grab an interesting picture today, it was the sun very lie in the sky at 05:45 this morning as I set about my journey to work πŸ˜‰

Odi et amo………..Excrucior

Stay Slinky People,
TTFN

Malinari..

20140717-232510-84310858.jpg

