Well it was a pretty long and shit day at work yesterday. Despite all the extra stuff I’m doing they seem determined to rank me as the worst member of the team, which quite frankly doesn’t motivate me in the slightest. What does motivate me to do is make sure my comedy performance on Thursday is the absolute best it can be, so that I can hopefully start that off as a revenue stream. 

Yep I’m quoting buzzword bingo, just like we get at work. I think my problem now is that I’m really fed up and bored of what I (and a good friend) termed the Oxbridge management style. It’s becoming even more apparent at work now. This style all stems from the upper management being chums from Oxbridge, and then they in turn encourage their team managers to attened the “management summer schools” that run throughout July and August (some of this is definitely factual, because in years gone by I was sent off on one such indoctrination course, but I resisted the brainwashing claptrap). These summer schools basically tout the new buzz word for the year for all businesses to be seen to be doing. For instance at work an initiative has just started called the 5 S’s, there’s a PowerPoint slides how going round which spouts 5 Japanese words beginning with S which allude to having a clean and tidy workplace. This, as far as I can make out, was originally a method of ensuring factories were safe and organised. So it’s being implemented to make us have a tidy desk largely devoid of personal artifacts. It all seems somewhat lame to me, especially the current methodology of claiming something is Japanese in origin to give it credibility. But also because I received too quality field craft training (and even used to teach it) from the British military. Now the field craft manual has a set if easy to remember rules, which because the military are wry good at delivering, still sticks with me today. They are the 5 S’s and 1 M. Which of course equate to Shape, Shine, Shadow, Sillouette, Sound and Movement. So when my work place insist on quoting 5 S’s at me, I just feel the urge to camouflage myself up and blend into my desk 🙂

<em>Odi et amo………..Excrucior</em>

Stay Slinky People,
TTFN
Malinari.. 

